Ahrens’ Playground Safety Advocate of the Year Award
Awarded by the National Program for Playground Safety (NPPS)

Each year the NPPS awards an individual that is dedicated to keeping our nation’s playgrounds safe in honor of Claude W. Ahrens.

NPPS is the leader in research, training and development of S.A.F.E. play areas. NPPS’ mission is to help the public create safe and developmentally appropriate play environments for children.

Claude W. Ahrens Community Service Award
Awarded by the Iowa Parks & Recreation Association (IPRA)

Each year, in honor of Claude W. Ahrens, the IPRA awards an individual or group of individuals outside of the parks and recreation profession who has provided support and contribution to the strengthening of programs and resources within their communities, area and state. The mission of IPRA is to support the advancement of park, recreation and environmental conservation opportunities through education, resource tools and advocacy.

Claude W. Ahrens/Miraco Scholarship
Awarded by Iowa State University

Each year a student attending Iowa State University majoring in Animal Sciences is awarded this academic scholarship to further assist his/her education.