About Julie

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Julie has created 29 blog entries.

GRMC’s New Ahrens Fitness Center & Postels Opens This Month

October 12, 2014 Facility Possible Thanks to Philanthropy There’s a lot of philanthropic muscle behind the new Paul W. Ahrens Fitness Center at Postels Community Health Park. Thanks to more than 300 gifts to the $500,000 project—including support from many fitness center members and lead gifts from the Claude W. and Dolly Ahrens Foundation, [...]

By | 2017-05-18T15:58:53+00:00 October 12th, 2014|Foundation News|0 Comments

Ahrens/Paschall Memorial Park To Celebrate 20 Years

August 29, 2014 It is easy to overlook how unique it is for a small, rural town to have the many assets Grinnell, Iowa possesses. From its strong regional hospital, to its nationally ranked and financially solid college; Grinnell sets a high standard for the quality of its citizen's rural life. Perhaps most significant among [...]

By | 2017-05-18T15:58:53+00:00 August 29th, 2014|Foundation News|0 Comments

2014 “Leave It Better Than You Found It” Award to S.H.E. Counts

August 18, 2014 Representing the board in receiving the award are (from left) board members Sue Drake, Rachel Bly, Melissa Strovers and Jill Allen. S.H.E. COUNTS, a fund to support and empower women and girls throughout Poweshiek County, is the 2014 recipient of the “Leave It Better Than You Found It” award from the Claude [...]

By | 2017-05-18T15:58:53+00:00 July 20th, 2014|Foundation News|0 Comments

New Staff, Strategic Plan for Ahrens Foundation

July 10, 2014 The Claude W. and Dolly Ahrens Foundation (CDAF) is welcoming a new staff member, promoting another, and adopting a new strategic plan to guide its activities during the next three years. President and CEO Julie Gosselink says the staff additions are directly tied to the Foundation's objectives to strengthen its Community Support [...]

By | 2017-05-18T15:58:53+00:00 July 10th, 2014|Foundation News|0 Comments

24th Annual Community Foundation Week Recognizes Impact, Leadership

November 12, 2013 Leaders from the Iowa Council of Foundations and Iowa community foundations commemorate the recent expansion of the Endow Iowa Tax Credit program with Governor Terry Branstad and Lieutenant Governor Kim Reynolds. Des Moines, IA — This week, local community foundations will join more than 750 community foundations across America for the 24th [...]

By | 2017-05-18T15:58:53+00:00 November 12th, 2013|Foundation News|0 Comments

Greater Poweshiek Community Foundation Celebrates Giving and Honors Visionary Tom Marshall at Spirit of Giving Dinner

October 15, 2013 On Thursday October 10, 2013, the Greater Poweshiek Community Foundation (GPCF) celebrated giving in Poweshiek County at the Grinnell College Harris Center at the fourth annual Spirit of Giving Dinner. The guests included community leaders, local business owners, donors to GPCF and its partner nonprofits, and friends and family members of Tom [...]

By | 2017-05-18T15:58:53+00:00 October 15th, 2013|Foundation News|0 Comments

Claude W. & Dolly Ahrens Foundation Awards

Art of Growing Community Awarded by the Greater Poweshiek Community Foundation October 13, 2016 GPCF Executive Director Nicole Brua-Behrens announced creation of the Art of Growing Community award, to be presented to an entity or individual in years when positive impact on the community is evident. She presented the inaugural award to Julie Gosselink [...]

By | 2017-05-18T15:58:55+00:00 September 26th, 2013|Awards|0 Comments

Ahrens Park Foundation Award

Iowa Sports Complex of the Year Awarded by the Iowa Turfgrass Institute In 2010, the Ahrens/Paschall Memorial Park was named the Iowa Sports Complex of the year. Its various sports fields were given high praise for the quality and overall care of the facility. The Iowa Turfgrass Institute established the award to recognize excellence of [...]

By | 2017-05-18T15:58:56+00:00 September 26th, 2013|Awards|0 Comments

Annual Awards Presented In Memory of Claude W. Ahrens

Ahrens' Playground Safety Advocate of the Year Award Awarded by the National Program for Playground Safety (NPPS) Each year the NPPS awards an individual that is dedicated to keeping our nation’s playgrounds safe in honor of Claude W. Ahrens. NPPS is the leader in research, training and development of S.A.F.E. play areas. NPPS’ mission is [...]

By | 2017-05-18T15:58:57+00:00 September 26th, 2013|Awards|0 Comments